The School Holidays

We’re on the last day of a two week break. Jon is in Sydney at a exhibition. I am a little sunburnt. The kids are watching Playhouse Disney at the moment. Life is good.

I started with high hopes and secretly savoured a hope that I would teach Bern to read in two weeks. As you can imagine, I didn’t even get started, never mind get close to anything like success. And I don’t have a single regret.

We whiled away the two weeks playing with our friends, KW and HY. We went to the Lake Gardens twice to visit a plant exhibition. The kids climbed, ran, jumped, slid about and got filthy! An all round great time. We had lots of naps and read lots of stories. The Lego came out and Bern created several fantastic concoctions. Bern and I made a pasta bake-yummy. We’ve bathed the guinea pigs and walked the bunny. We’ve even Skyped with Jon in Sydney. Bern also attended a trial Yamaha JMC class and was totally thrilled by it.

And when I got the workbooks out, I had to beg them to put them away. They wanted to go on and on. I opted to stop while I was ahead. But I think that this break was a great testing period for when we begin in earnest. Yup, Bern is scheduled to finish with Kindiecare after this concert semester.

2 thoughts on “The School Holidays

  1. Kinwai and Huiyin had a great time with you lot!
    The Lake Gardens playground was such good fun.
    Shall we try the klcc park next?

Leave a Reply

