Syllabus Review: ClickN Read

I think ClickN Read is pretty well known as well.  It’s an online reading tutorial.  I’m still not sure how many lessons there are in total but each lesson gets progressively more difficult.  The graphics and animation are decent but the ‘teacher’, a dog named Tad is sometimes rude and annoying (somewhat like a teenager).

The children were initially wow-ed by this talking dog and while Katelin is still enthusiastic AND learning to read, Bern cannot get his head around the American accent (neutral as it is).  Again, I think Bern has issues and the program itself is decent.  I too find the American accent a bit hard to ignore.  I also think Tad reads way to quickly during the section where the children are supposed to read after him.

When I bought this, I was also hoping I could set the kids up and have 15 minutes to myself but sadly, you have to be there or at least close at hand.  I am thinking of purchasing a children”s keyboard and mouse to see if it will  make things easier as the kids have trouble locating the letters on my laptop keyboard.  Perhaps this shiny almost reflective surface is just too confusing.

All in all, I do not regret buying this.  If all my children were Katelins, ClickN Read would be perfect.  So you need to know your child and what will work best for them.

Leave a Reply

