The arts

I was Science stream kid all through school and did a science based degree. I secretly harboured dreams of performing musically but neglected that part of me because science is King. Right?

Some of the happiest times of my life have been accompanied by music and poetry. Shell Silverstein, Ken Nesbitt, Dante, Bach, Don Maclean, Billy Joel…. They’ve all been part of my life in meaningful ways.

Now that I am a mother, I want for the kids to remain ignorant of the dichotomy of science and art. I want for them to equally value a well coloured picture and a perfect math

image

worksheet. So it is with pleasure that I share this news: Kiki has been accepted to audition for OZ.

I know being allowed to audition isn’t the same as getting a part and even if she is accepted, she’ll probably be a Munchkin. But I am still immensely pleased.

Leave a Reply

